Since our inception, every accomplishment, every breakthrough, every leap and bound has been fueled by our unwavering determination to make a difference. From our innovative academics and groundbreaking research to our record-breaking athletics and top-tier medical centers —

Greatness is the UCLA hallmark.

UCLA Defining Moments Timeline

Year 1919

The Vermont Avenue campus of the University of California (known as UC's "Southern Branch") opens, offering two-year undergraduate teachers-training programs.

Year 1927

The Regents of the University of California adopt the name "University of California at Los Angeles" in place of "Southern Branch."

Year 1929

The Westwood campus opens with 5,500 students;  Royce Hall is one of the first four buildings.

Year 1933

Graduate study is authorized for the master of arts degree.

Year 1934

The UCLA Graduate Division is established.

Year 1938

UCLA awards its first doctoral degree, a Ph.D. in history to Kenneth P. Bailey.

Year 1956

The first open-heart surgery in the western United States is performed at UCLA Medical Center.

Year 1964

UCLA wins the first of 10 NCAA men's basketball championships under Coach John Wooden.

Year 1969

UCLA becomes the first node on the ARPANET, which later becomes the Internet.

Year 1981

UCLA physicians report the world's first AIDS cases.

Year 1984

UCLA hosts gymnastics and tennis competitions for the 1984 Olympic Games and serves as an Olympic Village.

Year 1987

Professor Donald Cram receives the Nobel Prize in chemistry for "host-guest chemistry," a field he helped to create.

Year 1998

Pharmacologist Louis J. Ignarro is awarded the Nobel Prize in physiology or medicine for work showing that nitric oxide functions as an important signaling compound, helping the body regulate key functions such as blood pressure.

Year 2007

UCLA wins its 100th NCAA national championship.

Year 2008

The new Ronald Reagan UCLA Medical Center opens.

Year 2010

UCLA exceeds $1 billion in competitively awarded research grants and contracts in a single year.

Year 2012

Emeritus Professor Lloyd Shapley receives the Nobel Prize in economic sciences for the theory of stable allocations and the practice of market design.